Get to Know Me: Vol. I

Oh, hey. I’ve gotten quite a bit of followers in the last few months, so I thought I’d share a bit about more me!

  1. My first time out of the country was to Canada when I was eighteen in May 2013. I visited my friend Nina in Montreal, Quebec and my (now ex-) boyfriend Colin in London, Ontario. Since then, I made about half a dozen trips to Ontario over the next few years, most recently in July 2015, until Colin and I split and visited Nina in August 2015. My first time abroad was when I studied abroad in England from September 2015 to June 2016.
  2. I have two piercings and three tattoos. I have my right nostril and my smiley pierced. My tattoos are a small paper airplane on the back of my neck, “We are not meaningless” on my left side of my torso and a traditional-style dagger through a rose on my left calf with the script “Follow your bliss.” 
  3. I W.W.O.O.F.’ed in June 2015 in Ontario. W.W.O.O.F. is Willing Workers on Organic Farms, where you volunteer to live and work on an organic farm and your pay is room and board. It’s a big reason why I started this blog, in addition to my study abroad program that closely followed.
  4. I can ride my bike with no handlebars (no handlebars, no handlebars…).
  5. I have never broken a bone. My worst injury would have to be when I sprained a joint in my collar bone at an Enter Shikari concert. It hurt to do most anything (I would end up in tears just trying to get dressed), and it didn’t help that my dominant hand was the one that was hurt. Fortunately, after a week or so, it was about 80% healed, the other 20% came over the next month and a half.
  6. I’m not a big museum person. I have the attention span of a goldfish, so reading plaques with paragraphs of texts or looking in miles worth of art isn’t in my forte. If I’m alone, I will usually peruse at a comfortable speed (usually always moving) but I’m too self-conscious to do that alone.
  7. I bought an 80GB iPod classic with pet-sitting money in 2007 and it is still my best purchase to date. It’s not fully functional anymore, but it was a good little machine in its prime.
  8. I’ve been a vegetarian since 2011. However, since my time abroad, I’ve become more of a “flexitarian,” fluctuating between vegan, vegetarian and the very occasional meaty meal. 
  9. I worked part-time at a professional theater on my university’s campus as a glorified usher for my entire undergraduate career. Our theater, Gammage, got touring casts of professional musicals such as Phantom of the Opera, Wicked, Hamilton, and more. My job duties were to scan tickets, direct people to their seats, be the first line of defense against any issues with patrons and answer questions about the show and venue. Most of the other workers were students as well, so we got to do coursework on the job during the show. It was an amazing, easy job to have as a student and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I wrote a bit about my tenure at Gammage here.
  10. Right now, if I had to choose, my favorite musical artist is Rise Against, my favorite television show is It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, my favorite film is Across the Universe, my favorite book is The Green Mile by Stephen King and my favorite musical is Kinky Boots. Although I have a lot of other honorable mentions that I could talk about all day…
  11. A bit about my family: I have two younger brothers, Kyle and Ryan. My parents met in high school when they were living in southern California. Both my parents are educated to a Master’s level and my dad works as an engineer. My mom’s aunts live relatively local and most of the rest of my extended family lives in southern California. Last but most certainly not least, I have a nine-year-old Border collie mix called Bailey and he is my world.
  12. I don’t think I could travel for months on end, but big up to those who do. I get fatigued after about two weeks and love having somewhere to return to that I can call home, a bed of my own to sleep in and some consistency until my next adventure.
  13. This is the whitest story ever told, but in terms of Friends, I’m 50% Monica, 5% Rachel, 20% Phoebe, 20% Chandler and 5% Ross.
  14. I am a really picky drinker. I don’t do beer or wine whatsoever, I’ll have the very occasional coffee or tea and I’m trying to cut back on soda. I mainly drink water and juice.
  15. I’ve recently grown really fond of snakes, I’d love to have one as a pet!
  16. I happened upon Wonder Woman being filmed in Trafalgar Square, London in February 2016. The scene they were filming was a war victory scene, shown at the end of the film. It was pretty neat!
  17. My two absolute pet peeves are chronically late people and people cracking their knuckles. I say “chronically” because I understand that shit happens, but it ticks me off when people are consistently late, it shows extreme disrespect. And the sound of cracking knuckles is like nails on chalkboard to me, it literally makes me grimace.
  18. I love going to gigs. Here’s a more or less exhaustive list of all the gigs I’ve been to, the setlist played, my personal account and future concerts. The only artist that I love and have yet to see live is Billy Talent… maybe one day. 
  19. My go-to karaoke song is Sk8r Boi by Avril Lavigne and if I had to lip sync for my life, I would do it to Lay All Your Love On Me by ABBA.
  20. I don’t know exactly what I want to do when I grow up, but I don’t think it would be just one thing. I can definitely see myself changing careers several times. Right now, I’m really enjoying the education and outreach parts of my job, so I might start there!


  1. Mom
    August 8, 2017 / 5:01 am

    What a great post! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply