Get to Know Me: Vol. II

I decided to build up on the original version of this post every six months or so for new (and old) followers.

  1. I don’t know how to play chess.
  2. I dabbled in a lot of sports as a kid: karate (which I hated, thanks Mom and Dad), football (a.k.a. soccer), volleyball, track and gymnastics. I still really enjoy volleyball and have made it a resolution to play it more often!
  3. Although I suffer from anxiety, I find scuba diving (a typically anxiety-inducing activity) one of the most relaxing things I can do.
  4. I’ve met Jimmy Kimmel. Okay, sort of. He was at my work (2014) and he passed through the stage door while I was waiting for my lunch. Some people took pictures with him, but I was too shy to ask, so I just shook his hand.
  5. I keep all my movie stubs (amongst other memorbilia I seclectively display on my board). My oldest stub is circa 2010.
  6. I have been to ten states that I can remember: Arizona (where I lived), California (where my extended family lives), New Mexico, Hawai’i, New York, Ohio, Nevada, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware and Washington, D.C. I would like to go to Oregon, Washington, Illinois, Tennessee, Utah, Florida and Massachusetts, but I’m in no rush.
  7. My favorite animals are foxes.
  8. I’ve never seen a single episode of The Simpsons.
  9. My best friend of about ten years is called Sydney. She’s a year below me and studies physiology back home (Arizona). We actually met through our brothers who used to be best friends, but when they fell out, we didn’t!
  10. My biggest (and only) celebrity crush is Paul Rudd. I do have intense, fleeting infatuations, my most current one being Jack Whitehall, but Paul Rudd is the only crush to stand the test of time.
  11. My favorite smells are gasoline, cilantro and roses.
  12. I have several birthmarks; a large one on my right hip, medium one left knee and a small one the inside of my right thigh close to my crotch.
  13. Almost all of my extended family lives about an hour outside of Los Angeles, California, but I have family in San Diego, northern California, New Mexico, Montana and Japan.
  14. I’ve more or less had the same haircut since my hair was long enough to be styled: quite long and thick with a fringe. Although I still have a fringe (I have some friends who have never seen my forehead), I have an undercut (meaning my head is shaved from about the middle of my ears down) and my hair is currently shorter than it’s been in my adult life (a bit longer than shoulder length).
  15. I have a small permanent retainer on the back of my two front teeth. I don’t notice it except when I talk about it… like right now.
  16. I love ice hockey. I unfortunately support the Arizona Coyotes exclusively for geographic reasons. Although, I once caught a practice puck from Oliver Ekman-Larsson (okay, maybe not caught, had to fight someone off for it once it fell between the seats is more like).
  17. I have never been with an American. My two past boyfriends have been Canadian and English respectively and the current guy I’m seeing is Spanish.
  18. My all-time favorite restaurant would have to be Ike’s: a small sandwich chain where I’m from. Chipotle and The Dhaba also get an honorable mention. In England, I really enjoy Wahaca and Honest Burger, but I don’t think I will ever like them as much as those three restaurants back home.
  19. A bit more about my immediate family: my dad was born in Hawai’i and my mom was born in Germany before they met in high school. Both my brothers are in university studying biomedical engineering and criminal justice. I’m often mistaken for the youngest because both my brothers are about a foot taller than me. Once my brother’s birthday comes around, my parents will be able to say they have a 20, 21 and 22 year old… for a month until my birthday.
  20. I’m the world’s worst bowler and have a trophy of a horse’s ass to prove it.


Photo by Jill Heyer.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply